Video Submissions due for NBC’s Fallonventions Nov. 6

Producers for NBC are currently looking for smart, talented, energetic young inventors to feature during an upcoming Fallonventions segment on “The Tonight Show” in December (specific date TBD). We’ve set a deadline of Friday, November 6, 2015, for video submissions.

Check out for videos from prior segments.

They are open to inventors from kindergarten through high school, and they must have a functioning model or prototype. Unfortunately, they can only consider inventions created by solo inventors or teams of two.

8th Annual Event Dates and Venue Set

The deadline for submitting invention entries online for the 8th Annual Competition is January 29, 2016.  


Who is Eligible?

The competition is open to students K-8 in:

  • Hillsborough County
  • Pinellas County
  • Pasco County
  • Hernando County
  • Citrus County
  • Manatee County
  • Sarasota County
  • Polk County

Preliminary Judging

Top 50 entries selected Feb. 1, 2016. Preliminary judging by the USF Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors on Feb. 3, 2016 will select the top ten (10) finalists.   015

HSN Workshop

Finalist presentation workshop on Saturday, February 6, 2016 at HSN Studios (St. Pete) (tentative).


Prizes and Awards

Every competitor receives a free day pass to Tampa’s award-winning Museum of Science and Industry.   The top ten finalists receive annual family passes.  Awards include:

  1. Grand Prize:   $1,000 to the student and another $1,000 to the school
  2. Second Prize: $500 to the student and another $500 to the school
  3. Third Prize: $250 to the student and another $250 to the school


Plus surprise gifts from HSN. 

Finalist Presentations

Finalist presentations  6:00 PM, February 11, 2016 at the University of South Florida at the newly constructed USF Music Concert Hall on USF’s Tampa Campus.


Its time to get inventive!


USF Young Innovator Finals

Alexis Martin wins 2015 USF Young Innovator CompetitionThe 7th Annual USF Young Innovator Competition held its finalist competition last night at the University of South Florida.  The ten finalists competed in a live event before five expert judges: Israel Morejon, Valerie McDevitt, Bill Green, Jenn Holloway and Sebastian Dewhurst.  The ten finalists were:

  1. Waishy Harmon Water Spraying Brush
  2. Hanley Riggs Pressure Clothing
  3. Zachary Shinneman Highway Sweeper
  4. Grant Humphries Beach Inflatable Mat
  5. Alenna Spiro Edu-Feedback
  6. Avery New Seatbelt Detector
  7. Sanjana Srinivasan Oil Spreader
  8. Lily Quay Ice Bandage
  9. Marc Taylor Retracting Speed Bump
  10. Alexis Martin No Bully Bracelet

The 6th Annual Outback Steakhouse Top Trademark Award went to Waishy Harmon for her RUSH BRUSH™ trademark for a water spraying brush.

HSN's Bill Green discusses Waishy Harmon's invention with her.

Grand Prize

The $1,000 Grand Prize went to Alexis Martin for her “No Bully Bracelet.”  In addition, she won a new HP notebook computer and HP tablet courtesy of HSN.

Alexis Martin PresentsAlexis Martin and Jenn Holloway

2nd Place

The runner up with Marc Taylor for his retractable speed bump for school zones earning him $500 and a GoPro 3 camera from HSN.

Marc Taylor Marc Taylor wins a GoPro camera from HSNMarc Taylor's cheering section.

Third Place

The third place award of $250 went to Hanley Riggs for her pressure clothing invention for autistic children. HSN awarded her a third generation iPad tablet.

Hanley Riggs wins an iPad from HSNHanley Riggs presents.

Register for the 7th Annual Live Competition

IMG_1362The top young innovators from around the Tampa Bay region will compete in the 7th annual live event at the USF Patel Center before a panel of celebrity and science judges. Invention showcase from 5:15 to 6:00. Competition starts at 6:00 pm.  There is no fee to attend but space is limited.  Please register now:

When: Wednesday February 11, 2015 from 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM EST Add to Calendar

Where:  Patel Center at the University of South Florida
4202 East Fowler Avenue
CGS 101
Tampa, FL 33620
Contact: Kari McDermott
University of South Florida, Young Innovator Program
Support your Classmates!  Finalists include students from the following schools:
  1. Academy at the Lakes
  2. Terrace Community Middle
  3. Martinez Middle School (2)
  4. Spessard L. Holland Elementary
  5. Family of Christ Christian School (2)
  6. Walden Lake Elementary
  7. Canterbury School of Florida
  8. Learning Gate Community School
Invention Student Grade Teacher School
Pressure Clothing Hanley Riggs 8 Elizabeth Magnusson Academy at the Lakes
Edu-Feedback Alenna Spiro 8 Tracie Overdorff Terrace Community Middle
Beach blanket with detachable inflatable mat Grant Humphries 6 Gynnekia Booth Martinez Middle School
No Bully Bracelet Alexis Martin 3 Patricia Lake Spessard L. Holland Elementary
Device that a plice man can detect if a person is wearing a seatbelt Avery New 5 Melissa Gembarowski Family of Christ Christian School
Oil dispenser and spreader Sanjana Srinivasan 6 Jennifer Griffin Martinez Middle School
Highway Sweeper Zachary Shinneman 5 Sandra VanOosten Walden Lake Elementary School
Storage Hair Brush with Water Spraying Bristles Waishy Harmon 6 Melissa Gembarowski Family of Christ Christian School
Ice bandade Lily Quay 3 Esposito Lester Canterbury School of Florida
the speed bump at school zones that goes up automatically at school time Marc Taylor 5 Sylvie Fanous-Samaan Learning Gate Community School